Board of the ISGS

The Executive Board of the society consists of the ISGS President, a Vice-President, the immediate Past President, the Secretary General, the Treasurer, the Public Relations Manager, and the Editor-in-Chief of the journal “Gesture”. The officers of the Executive Board are elected by the members during the General Assembly for a period of up to three years. Persons who have made an extraordinary contribution to gesture studies through their scientific work, their organizational achievements or their financial support can be appointed Honorary Members of the ISGS. At the moment, the society has two honorary presidents.

Honorary President

Adam Kendon, University College London, profile

Honorary President

David McNeill, University of Chicago, profile


Spencer Kelly, Colgate University, profile


Vice President

Aliyah Morgenstern, Université Sorbonne Nouvelle, profile 




Immediate Past President

Asli Ozyurek, Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics, profile





Secretary General

Tilbe Göksun, Koç University, profile






Kensy Cooperrider, University of Chicago, profile 




Public Relations Officer

Jana Bressem, TU Chemnitz, profile






Editor Journal GESTURE

Sotaro Kita, University of Warwick, profile






Past presidents, vice presidents & and journal editors

Past presidents of the ISGS:

  • 2002–2005: Jürgen Streeck
  • 2005–2007: Janet Bavelas
  • 2007–2012: Susan Goldin-Meadow
  • 2012–2014: Sotaro Kita
  • 2014–2016: Asli Ozyurek
  • 2016–present: Spencer Kelly

Past vice presidents:

  • 2002–2005: Heather Brookes, Jacques Cosnier, David McNeill, Rosa Montes
  • 2005–2007: Lorenza Mondada
  • 2007–2010: Gale Stam
  • 2010–2012: Sotaro Kita
  • 2012–2016: Alan Cienki
  • 2016–present: Aliyah Morgenstern

Past editors of GESTURE (the journal):

  • 2000–Adam Kendon & Cornelia Müller
  • 2010–April 2017: Adam Kendon
  • April 2017–future: Sotaro Kita